Kuala Lumpur Malaysia Welcome 2014 With A Black Demonstration

DSC_0259

DSC_0143 DSC_0142

DSC_0141

“Am I hero to save my country?”

31st December 2013 last day of the year, I’m about to end year 2013 in the most popular city of Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur.  I was excited waiting for the fireworks in Merdeka Square, an hour before midnight to bid goodbye year 2013 and say hello year 2014 a big concert happening for this momentous event.

People’s spirit was so high and only a bit of an hour will renounce year 2014, for some it’s a year of hope and change. Suddenly, a huge group of demonstrators was heading towards the Merdeka Square chanting reformation; their emotion was full of frustrations against the Malaysian government.

I managed to talk to some of the demonstrators, and heard sentiments toward their government especially to “lower the price of commodities” then, before the struck of 12:00 midnight the concert stage was invaded by the black demonstrators. The outcome there is NO fireworks. Striking midnight, all of the people filling the streets of Merdeka Square look afar in the famous Petronas Twin Towers where the fireworks begin to welcome year 2014.

While at Merdeka Square disappointment was suddenly strike because waiting for this day was an earth-shattering for each and everyone including myself but instead I celebrated New Year 2014 humming a “Silent Night”, I only heard loud voice coming from the demonstrators and sigh of frustrations.

I ended-up my New Year observing the demonstrators sentiments, and the people with a high hopes waiting for the fireworks display above the sky. It’s a mixture of emotions filling the air, and witnessing the two sides of the people in Malaysia.

DSC_0138 DSC_0140 DSC_0219 DSC_0222

DSC_0169 DSC_0179

Sometimes, people have had their own way to call the attention of their Government official’s for them to be heard. As a traveler, I only see things which pleasing to the eyes but this precise moment the black demonstrators filled the entirety of the streets, emotions are too high, sentiments are real.

Suddenly, I just smile even no fireworks that I witness to lightened up the darkness of the sky I appreciate that this is part of my journey. I welcome year 2014 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia to see things on the silent of my lens.

DSC_0219 DSC_0238

 

DSC_0098 DSC_0099

For more photos, please visit: http://www.facebook.com/FelyAraojoPhotography or click this link for more: https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.571864879569524.1073741877.520604678028878&type=1

Leave a Reply

